Using Xam Studio 5 stable, when adding images to a folder that already has the images, i.e. in an attempt to update them, I am not offered an option to overwrite existing files. This requires me to find/remove the existing files, then add them again. Regression from 4.x
Checked, Adding existing items to a folder does not offer overwrite option
Screencast (XS 5.0 (build 878)): http://www.screencast.com/t/wgb5poqUJ
Screencast (XS 4.2.3 (build 60)): http://www.screencast.com/t/IQIgJjQai
Xamarin Studio Version 5.0 (build 878)
Git revision: bcd66920d963483e7d638a2339c4022fe035b529
Xamarin addins: da9064ce55b0fa90930a7c437a4cc1ae0e5c778c
XS 4.2.3( build 60)
Opened pull request with a possible fix:
Fixed in version 184.108.40.2061 (master)
Author: Matt Ward
Commit: 98a891d11355a1cb2d5f03b1cf9aa1c4f3ce1f23 (mono/monodevelop)
I have verified this issue with the latest Cycle 8 Patch build, i.e
XS Version 6.1 (build 5300)
Release ID: 601005300
Git revision: c9f7484fd74da4d514ded991a6e0d4d4086119f9
Build date: 2016-08-02 13:46:37-04
Xamarin addins: 7d87728fe95cd705d37866eb55bb9da3cbb83984
Build lane: monodevelop-lion-cycle8-allow-overwrite-existing-files-when-adding-files
And have observed that now the issue does not exist, and user is getting the overwrite option when Adding existing items to a folder.
Below is the screencast for the same:
Hence, marking this issue as verified - fixed
Adding some more information on how the fix works:
1) Adding existing files to a folder in a project would not allow the
existing files to be overwritten. The existing project files would
need to be deleted first. Now when adding an existing file to a folder
in a project where they already exist the user is prompted to
overwrite the existing file.
2) Add apply all check box to dialog when overwriting project files.
When adding or moving multiple files into a project, and the files
already exist, the user will be shown a dialog asking if they want
to overwrite each file. The dialog has a Cancel, Skip and Overwrite
File button and an Apply to all check box when multiple files are
being added. If a single file is being added then the Skip and
Apply to all check box is not displayed.
Previously there was no way to cancel multiple files being added
or moved. The cancel button would only cancel the file currently
being added. Also there was no way apply the same action, skip or
overwrite, to all files without having to repeatedly click a button
on the dialog.
Fixed in version 220.127.116.1115 (cycle8)
Author: Matt Ward
Commit: e7f810fe0cbb2eb69559fd6ddcb1ba90d572a0b5 (mono/monodevelop)
Today, I have checked it with latest build of Cycle 8 i.e. XS 18.104.22.16816 commit : dfc3133c2542c0e69d8acf9e753a583a82ba6f88 as mentioned in comment 7, I observed that this issue is working fine now.
Screencast : http://www.screencast.com/t/W17qwiSVWX